tiles

Workshops

 

R. SHARATH'S 2009 TOUR

“A unique opportunity to practice Ashtanga Yoga under the direct guidance of Sharath Rangaswamy”

On 18th May 2009, Sri K. Pattabhi Jois - affectionately called Guruji by his students - passed away in his family house in Mysore, South India. He was 93 years old.

Guruji was worldwide loved and respected for his joyful presence and humour, his devotion to God, yoga, his family, his students, and for his total dedication to Ashtanga Yoga, which he started to practice at age 12 and taught uninterruptedly to students from all over the world for over 60 years.

Sharath Rangaswamy is the most advanced practitioner in the world and the only one who has been taught the sixth and last series of the Vinyasa system by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois who was his grandfather and who he assisted for over 20 years in their school in Mysore.

Sharath has recently taken over the daily leadership of the Ashtanga Yoga Institute in Mysore (KPJAYI) and he will this year travel around the world to visit the main schools and give classes in Ashtanga yoga.

All classes will be ‘count-through’ classes, the traditional system of teaching Ashtanga Yoga used in Mysore, which implies that previous knowledge of the series is required to be able to participate in the workshops. If you have been practicing Ashtanga Yoga for a while and are familiar with Primary Series until at least Navasana (half-primary), these workshops represent a great opportunity to receive guidance and insight in the way to unite this ancient tradition with living in a modern world.

R. SHARATH’S 2009 TOUR DATES

Full details for each of the dates can be found directly on the website of the Ashtanga school hosting the event. For further information, please visit their website clicking on the link provided:


COPENHAGEN
Week 1: Sunday, August 2 - Friday, August 7
For registration please visit:

www.astanga.dk


HELSINKI
Week 1: Sunday, August 9 - Friday, August 14
Week 2: Sunday, August 16 - Friday, August 21
For registration please visit:

www.astanga.fi


LONDON
Week 1: Sunday, August 23 - Friday, August 28
For registration please visit:

www.astangayogalondon.com


BALI
Week 1: Monday, October 19 - Saturday, October 24
For registration please visit:

www.yogamoves.com.au


SYDNEY
Week 1: Tuesday, October 27 - Sunday, November 1
Week 2: Tuesday, November 3 - Sunday, November 8
For registration please visit:

www.yogamoves.com.au


GOA
Week 1: Sunday, December 13 - Friday, December 18
Week 2: Sunday, December 20 - Friday, December 25
Week 3: Sunday, December 27 - Friday, January 1, 2010
For registration please visit:

www.yogagoa.com